In Medias Res: Episode Three

Nice to see you—how’ve you been?
Haven’t seen you since I was fourteen
Jedi, Clone Wars veteran
Saw you there and I thought
Anakin, I remember you
From back when I fled Naboo
Times have changed; you have too

Started training with Jedi
When they brought you from Tattooine
Eager, nervous, and in time
Beguiled by Palpatine
Watched your power transcend
Your off-the-charts midichlorians
But in love you’re my equal
I can make the bad guys good for a prequel

So it’s gonna be forever
Or it’s gonna go down in flames
Contemplate when it’s over
Was the high ground worth the pain?
You defied the Jedi Council
Who warned us you’re insane
Our love is an uphill battle
But it’s not in vain

But we’re young and we’re reckless
We’ll take this way too far
It’ll leave you breathless
Or with a nasty scar
Got a mess of premonitions
That keep you up at night
Your fate will not kill volition
Don’t give up the fight

Secret love, violent lies
Always hell-bent on protecting me
Anger, hatred, dark goodbyes
What changed from when I was queen?
Arrogance that your power
Will save us in the eleventh hour
But the worst is yet to come, oh no

Ruthless ego, now you’re gone
While we watch the Jedi temple blaze
Screaming, crying Padawans
Blinded by a furious craze
Too late; you can’t see
You’re transfixed by treachery
A self-fulfilling prophecy
But, darling, please wake up; this is just a bad dream

So it’s gonna be forever
Or it’s gonna go down in flames
Contemplate when it’s over
Was the high ground worth the pain?
We’re a pair of star-crossed lovers
Trying to find our way
Deceived by one betrayer
And you led astray

‘Cause we’re young and we’re reckless
We’ll take this way too far
It’ll leave you breathless
Or with a nasty scar
Obi-Wan didn’t have your power
Though he did have foresight
But I’ve got a new hope, baby
Come back to the light

[Thank you, Taylor Swift, for unknowingly writing a song about Anakin Skywalker and thus providing me with perfect inspiration for this poem.]

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “In Medias Res: Episode Three

  1. hey nice one…when I read “Nice to see you—how’ve you been?” I was like I SHOULD check out this poem…fabulous fabulous.If you could check out some of my works it’ll be helpful 🙂

Leave a Reply

